My Pink Quilt ~

 This is my pink quilt. 

My Pink Quilt Summer 2012

I’ve been quilting for about 11 years, having been an avid learner and coached by my mother-in-law, Ethel Whalen, who is a professional quilter and has shown her prize-winning work in Pennsylvania.  I never expect to be as good or as prolific as her, but I do enjoy the craft immensely.

 I’ve made a “few”, I guess.  I will post them randomly as I go along and get good photos of them ~ at least the ones I still have on hand.  Mostly I enjoy making quilts specifically for other people.  And I usually try to present it as a “themed” quilt, with the receiver’s likes in mind.  I’ve made an Oriental quilt for a good friend, a “Goth” quilt for my son, several baby quilts, quilts for fundraisers.  You’ll see.

 But this quilt, this pink quilt is mine.  My goal was to make something unique for myself, just something laptop size, to snuggle with in these cold Upstate New York winters when I like to watch t.v. in the familyroom.  Well, this pink quilt ended up being queen size, but snuggle-worthy just the same!  See, I wanted something that would cover all of me ~ unless those commercial “throws” you buy in the stores that are only 60″ or 72″ long.  Not good enough!

 I found a pattern in one of my quilting magazines called “Caroline’s Chain”, and I fell in love with it.  It’s warm, it’s Victorian and romantic.  I wasn’t sure, when I looked at it, that it would be to my level of quilting, but I was pleasantly surprised.  The pattern says it’s for “intermediate” quilters, but I only considered myself with “beginner” skills.  My typical pattern of choice is a simple 9-patch or something easy with squares.  Keep triangles and ellipticals away from me, please.

 I started by researching online “Caroline’s Chain” to see what fabrics were involved, and I found most of them available right on eBay.  The others were purchased from online quilt shops.  Unfortunately, I’m not one to really measure and do the mathematics involved with my creative quilt-making.  I like to just buy “a yard of this, two yards of that” and figure that ought to be enough ~ and usually it is.  That’s why I’m always surprised at what size my quilt will be when I’m done… they’re always bigger than planned.  But, I gathered all the appropriate fabrics and began my project.  I was very proud at how the quilt top turned out after diligently working on it evenings after work for about 2 months.  Next would be the backing, and I decided to use the numerous leftovers from the top in some creative way.  Granted, the back seems haphazardly put together to me, but I used up most of my Caroline’s Chain fabric.  I still had some leftovers for my quilt journal.

This is my pieced pink quilt back.

 So that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  I hope you enjoy checking out my quilts as much as I’ve enjoyed making them.

6 thoughts on “My Pink Quilt ~

  1. Pingback: Pure Decadence ~ « A Matter of Perspective

  2. Hi Tamara,
    Thanks for the recent comments over at my blog. I’ve been slacking a bit in the blogosphere lately, trying to keep up with reading and posting at this very busy time of the year. I’m very behind in creating my latest quilt – it was supposed to be for my younger daughter’s 15th birthday, which was in August! And now there will be another quilt I will need to start in a few months. I made a graduation quilt for a dear friend of the family about a year and a half ago and my older daughter graduates from high school next June, so she of course wants one too!
    Anyway, when things seem a little less busy around here, I will definitely come back and have another look at your quilts. The little bit that I’ve seen so far look lovely!

  3. That is so nice! You must be more skilled than you thought. I do lots of crafty things but nothing as big as this. I really like it.

Leave a Reply

