The Deceived ~

I’ve had my share, as most people have, of falling in love with someone only to put your heart, your soul, your 100% into that person and expecting the same to be returned unto you.  You invest months, maybe years into the relationship, and you think this person is “the One”, and that you’ll be together forever and always and live happily ever after with that “white picket fence” I’ve always been searching for.  He tells you he’s your soul mate, that he’s always loved you and/or will always love you.  He does everything for you, the romance, the love, the trust and maybe even the faithful.  But, eventually, things fall apart between you, and you begin to find out things during and even after the break up that you never could’ve seen while you were together.  He, indeed, was unfaithful.  Or he was a liar in those things he told you to keep you complacent in his life.

 And this is not only for women, but also for men… but I’m writing from my perspective as a woman who has lived these circumstances perhaps 5 or 6 times so far in my life.

 Being happily married, as I have been for 14 years now, does not exclude you from being vulnerable.  As much as you can try to put these painful experiences away, sometimes they can seep back into your mind, unwanted and unwelcome, and they bring all those old feelings back, including those of mistrust and hurt.  Sometimes you wonder if someday you’ll be experiencing that same deception again in the future with your current love.

 Our church began a series on marriage 3 weeks ago in which our Pastor stated “to really be fulfilled in life, you have to find The One”.  How do you find “The One”?  How do you know that he is “The One”, and not just another liar, cheater and unscrupulous person in your life?  There is only one way to know for sure and you need to know where to look.  He won’t be found in the nearest nightclub, or in the gym where you work out.  He won’t be found at work (yours or his), and he certainly won’t be found in your past.  If you want to find “The One”, you need to look to the Bible because it all starts there.  You see, Jesus is “The One”, the only one that you need to get through this life and beyond.  Once you find Him, the rest falls into place, and your Number Two will too.  My husband doesn’t mind being “Number Two” because we share the same “Number One”.

 2 Corinthians 5:17

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

 Philippians 1:6

“He who began a good work in you, will be faithful to complete it.”

 Admittedly, I still struggle… I do.  It’s pretty much a daily battle for me to rely and trust in “The One” in my life, even though I know in my heart and soul that He is there, always will be, will never let me down and loves me unconditionally.  My “Number Two” promises the same, but is human and, therefore, imperfect (as am I).  However, my husband was brought into my life by “The One”, so I know I’m in good hands here in the world.

 I guess my point is that I just want to share “The One” with you… with everyone I know.  His name is “power, breath and living water… such a marvelous mystery.”  For anyone who knew me “then” (pre-1998) and “now” that I’ve accepted Jesus as my Savior and God as my Father, you can plainly SEE THE DIFFERENCE in me since I accepted life.  And the difference is for the better.  If you want to know more about me “then”, read my ongoing Revealed blog posts, and you’ll see where I’ve come from and how I got here.  For anyone who is living a “hard” life or having seemingly insurmountable problems/issues, there is a way out of that darkness and into the light.  I am living proof.  It happened for me and it can happen for you, if you want it to.  The work starts with a small prayer, it’s that easy.  And it’s worth the hard work afterwards to have the life that God wants you to have.  It’s not all wealth and roses, but it’s good… at last it’s good.

Sunset on the water of life.

One thought on “The Deceived ~

  1. “The hard work”….. It seems to be much harder to be in a “place” where you don’t like yourself and you’re being abused. Talk about hard work!

Leave a Reply

