Quality Quilting ~

I’m always on the lookout for new quilt shops, quilt shows and anything quilting in our area.  This little shop got by my radar until this morning.  My husband kept telling me that he knew of this place, in the middle of nowhere about 10 miles from our home, and he said they had nice quilt fabric and selection etc.  What do guys (in general) know about quilting?  Anyway, I let him take me there this morning, and I was not sorry I did!

Spring Lake Fabrics’ Welcoming Committee!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spring Lake Fabrics (http://www.springlakefabrics.com/) is a quaint fabric/home goods shop that, like I said, is in the middle of nowhere U.S.A.  It is an unassuming Mennonite fabric store plopped down in the center of the most remote farm country, surrounded by cows and crop fields.  One of the things I like most about it is that it is small, yet not “crammed”.  With my arthritic knees and back issues, I absolutely hate the warehouse size of the local JoAnn Fabrics, and even Hobby Lobby is a good-size distance from the doors to the fabric department.  Spring Lake Fabrics has everything and more that the average quilter and/or sewer could need all in a neat package.

 

Spring Lake Fabrics sign. Don’t miss it!

As I’ve seen with other Mennonite fabric/quilt shops, their selections of fabrics are incredible and their prices rival JoAnn’s or any other local or online store ($6.99-$9.95 per yard).  And they have sales galore.  Additionally, they have all kinds of fabrics, not just quilting or cotton.  But include upholstery, drapery, laces, furs as well as pre-made panels for pillows, baby quilts and the like.  They literally have everything and in good supply.  Did I mention “accessories” like ribbons, trims, buttons like you’ve never seen before?

 In addition to fabric in their “fabric section” of their store, they have children’s toys, a selection of children’s/infants clothing, books, DVDs, movies, socks and hats.  Most of their goods are geared toward Christian buyers (books, movies etc).  Their toys are “simple” in nature, taking you back to the “olden days”.

A colorful aisle of fabrics at Spring Lake Fabric store, Savannah, NY

 

Then there’s a doorway that leads into their home goods section, kind of a small grocery store.  They have a myriad of foods, some pre-packaged, some bulk packaged.  You’ll meander up and down the 5-6 aisles of interesting foods, seasonings, jams, jellies, sodas, then go through another door into a refrigerated room ~ it has plastic flaps in the doorway to keep the cold in and the warm out.  In there you’ll find all kinds of fresh produce at ridiculous prices, for the most part.  We bought a package of (3) green/orange/yellow peppers for $1.00!  Yes, they were still good!  There are also a variety of meats and cheeses packaged for sale in this cold room as well as other fruits and vegetables.

 

  

A nice selection of landscaping prints.
                                                                      

Another aisle of vibrant, inviting fabrics!

Did I mention you can purchase their fabrics ONLINE?  They don’t have their full selection available, but they have a good selection.  If you go to the store, you will be welcomed by three very amiable and talkative women.  The proprietor appears to be the mother and the other two twenty-something daughters.  I only got one name (see the pic), Lucinda.

Did you catch that sign?

 

Lucinda stocks shelves.

 Altogether it was a wonderful experience, once we found the store!  It was not easy to get to!  We were the first ones there, but when we came out about an hour later, there were cars and trucks literally streaming into the small parking area in front of the store and it quickly became almost impossible to navigate.  Get there early!  It’s worth the trip! 

 

A selection of “Whoopie Pies” at Spring Lake Fabrics, Savannah, NY

Kutztown sodas to choose from (I chose Birch Beer)!

                          

3 thoughts on “Quality Quilting ~

  1. Thanks for your great reply, Tamara. Looking forward to seeing you Snickers/Milky Way quilt and your mother-in-law’s too. You wouldn’t be hungry, would you ?;) Brown tones are gorgeous, I should use more of them. I am planning to post pictures of a quilt I made for my sister’s birthday last July. Special… is all I can say and that is a scoop for you 😉 good night for now, 10.10pm here, eyes closing.

  2. What a fabulous place this Spring Lake Fabric is ! Thanks so much for sharing the link. I visited their choice of fabrics : so much and so pretty: I had a look at the Oriental, Winter, Celestial and the very pretty Coffee Cups. It’s really worth having a look at their many offers. Did you try the pies ? Did you buy some fabrics ?

    • Their oriental in-house fabrics are vast and gorgeous. Many with gold inlay. They do not show their entire stock online… pity. I have not tried their whoopie pies (yet), but will be going back probably right after Christmas to purchase some fabric to compliment my latest quilt project, which is all shades of brown. Reminds me of a Snickers/Milky Way bar! Guess you can see where my mind is at! 🙂 They have a delicious selection of chocolates… I mean brown tones fabric. Isa, I will be posting a nice piece about my mother-in-law and her quilts very soon. She is/was (retired) a professional, prize-winning quilter, and my inspiration for beginning to learn quilting. Keep an eye out!
      Thanks for the look. When are you going to post something more after Scott’s challenge? Love the colors!

Leave a Reply

