Exploring Photography ~

Okay, I’m totally new to photography… at least, putting my photos “out there” for others to admire and/or criticize.  But since I found that I can incorporate my three favorite things ~ quilting, blogging and photography ~ I’m having quite a bit of fun with it.  I don’t have a professional camera, but my Finepix S700 Fuijifilm digital that my husband bought me for Christmas two years ago, does me fine.  I’m just now reading the instructions on advanced photography in the manual.  I never really took an interest before… just “point and shoot” was my motto.

Then I got into this blogging on WordPress.  I’m still working on fine-tuning the insertion of photos and stuff.  Maybe I need to upgrade to the paid version if I’m going to be doing this for awhile.  And someone told me there’s a “WordPress for Dummy’s” out there.  I should’ve expected that.

My “over processed” grey tabby cat, “Doug”. He tolerates me being this close for a photograph … um … never.

I use Ipiccy.com for my touch-ups.  Photoshop is just too complicated and timely for my amateur needs.  Ipiccy takes over where Picnik used to be.  It’s pretty simple, free and can do many enhancements that will make your photos look more professional than they otherwise would.  I am particularly a fan of “vignette”.

Sumi, my Siamese, is not impressed with my wanting to take her photo.

 I took the above photo of my 13 year old Siamese cat, Sumi, then messed with it in iPiccy to make it look like a cross-stitch project.  Sumi has her usual “leave me alone” non-chalant look on her face as she sits on the back of “her chair”.  Again, I used the vignette on her.  I don’t know what it is about that option, maybe just the way it “frames” the photo, but I really like it.  I’m learning about the “Rule of Thirds” ( http://viewsinfinitum.com/2010/02/19/power-of-three/) from Scott Thomas’ Views Infinitum blog, and have been actively trying to incorporate that into my photos.  I admit I’m having a hard time.  I did try the “Rule of Thirds” in my photo of the black horse above… did I hit or  miss?  My camera, I discovered, even has a grid that I can use for just this purpose.  Isn’t modern photography amazing?

I took this during a walk through our woods back before the snow started to fly and the temps were warmer.

I’ve been perusing several other blogs that seem to specialize in photography, and they all are fascinating.  Many with exceptional photos that leave me wondering “How do they DO that?” !  It is these photo-blogs that inspire and encourage me.  I get ideas, I get instruction (“Rule of Thirds”) and I am encouraged to put things out there even though I am not a professional, or even an amateur… but barely a beginner, and loving it!  I’m only in it for “the share” and enjoyment, not the competition.  So I hope you enjoy my little contributions to the great, wide expanse of the photography world.

 

2 thoughts on “Exploring Photography ~

  1. You did quite well with your pictures, Tamara, Bravo ! Photography is really a hobby that will not leave you once you start. I always keep my camera in my handbag, also a “point and shoot” that is light and efficient. I use Picasa to improve my shots sometimes, “vignette” is a great way to frame pictures. also use Photoscape sometimes to precisely frame differently my photos, a lot of choice and easy to use. I like the way you brought movement in the picture of the horse. I will have a look at your Ipiccy.com. Thanks for the info and good luck 🙂

    • I have used Picasa before and liked it but don’t think I used it enough to really favor it. I haven’t tried Photoscape, but will take a look at it I have become accustomed to carrying my camera with me, as you say, however forgot it today of all days and I feel naked! Thanks for looking and the constructive criticism that I value highly!

Leave a Reply

