Color in the Carolinas: Photos of Charlotte ~

I lived in North Carolina for a few years, off and on, near Jacksonville just off base from the Camp Lejeune Marine Corp Base.  I don’t remember anything being so colorful down there as when I went to Charlotte in April 2010 with my sister-in-law.  I had just really begun to appreciate photography, but pretty much only used it for scrap booking until I discovered blogging a couple of months ago.  So pardon my less-than-stellar pics, as I didn’t think much of composition etc. back then.  I also didn’t think to find out the names of the places where I took my pictures, except they were everywhere around Charlotte.

Pretty wild and colorful sculpture outside a downtown museum in Charlotte, NC.

Pretty wild and colorful sculpture outside a downtown museum in Charlotte, NC.

One of my favorite things to photograph would have to be flowers.  We scheduled our trip down to Charlotte from Syracuse, New York, and Lake Winola, Pennsylvania, just in time for the spring to be sprung as far as florals are concerned.

Pansies

Pansies

Flowering dogwoods

A random entrance to an apartment complex.

A random entrance to an apartment complex.

My sister-in-law was gracious enough to understand my shutterbug afflication, and she took me sightseeing several times over the course of the 4-5 days we were there (for her daughter’s wedding).  She understood the need to do a “quick, pull over!” to get a shot before you have driven by, and she also knew of several places that would accommodate the color addiction I had with regard to photography.

A gorgeous, serene pond sits in the center of a beautiful "strip" mall.

A gorgeous, serene pond sits in the center of a beautiful “strip” mall.

More local beauty in Charlotte, NC

More pansies displayed in beautiful ceramic (?) urns.

More pansies displayed in beautiful ceramic (?) urns.

This fellow held his ground despite how close I got!  (heron)

This fellow held his ground despite how close I got! (Great Blue heron)

The color here caught my eye, hence my camera.

 Sweet

Sweet

                                                                                                                                                                     

Isabell

Isabell

Last, but certainly not least, pics of my two nieces as they enjoy the huge lollipops that I brought them just for fun.  Once again, it’s all about the color ~ ok, well maybe not ALL ~ the girls are pretty darn cute in their own right! 

Hope you’ve enjoyed my colorful trip through Charlotte.

 

Leave a Reply

