My Quilting Mentor ~

I haven’t been quilting that long, according to the world of quilting.  Only about 12 years.  I don’t remember how exactly I got started, but I know it was my mother-in-law, Ethel Whalen, who got me started and encouraged me all through my journey so far.  Fourteen years ago, when I married her son, Alfred, I admired her exceptional skill and enthusiasm for quilting each time we went to visit my in-laws near Clarks Summit, PA.  She would either be starting, in the midst of, or putting the finishing touches on a full or queen size quilt. 

This blue & white quilt is one of my favorites.

This blue & white quilt is one of my favorites.

The colors and patterns she chose were always so vibrant and intricate.  I never thought I would be able to have the skill to put things together so well, let alone the patience it would take to make an entire quilt ~ which could take weeks to months.  She belonged to a local Quilt Guild and went to quilt meetings and participated in shows in which her quilts and wall hangings won awards.

An intricate wall hanging

An intricate wall hanging

So, when I finally got up the courage to give quilting a try, it was only natural that Mom lend a hand with encouragement and instruction.  She even “donated” several quilting “tools” for my benefit in getting started and I began to take an interest in quilting books and magazines for additional hints.  She always has spurred me on by reminding me that she didn’t START quilting until she was in her 60’s (she’s now in her 80’s).  She keeps a quilt “diary” album of sorts that documents through photos all of the projects she’s done over the years:  wall hangings, lap quilts, place mats, full and queen size quilts for family members and friends, as well as baby quilts for grandchildren.  That’s how I got the idea to start my own diary.

 

King size maple leaf qult

King size maple leaf qult

Our home is filled with many various quilts that Mom and made.  The photos above and below are all her projects.  One of these days soon I should offer to take her album(s) and make them digital, just to preserve the legacy longer.  In the meantime, Mom has retired from quilting in the past couple of years, as her arthritic hands just can’t accommodate all the cutting, pinning and sewing required.  But I figure I still have a few more years that I can use quilting as my creative outlet.  I’ll have to post some of my “masterpieces” on my blog some day soon. 

Christmas tree skirt

Christmas tree skirt
One thought on “My Quilting Mentor ~

  1. Pingback: Quilting Memories ~ | A Matter of Perspective

Leave a Reply

