Forgiven & Set Free: 1st Christmas ~

I’ve been giving a lot of thought as to “how far” I need to go in my post-abortion healing.  How long does one grieve?  How long before I’m healed?  Some people feel the need to “celebrate” yearly milestones, but I think for me, I’ve about reached the summit and am prepared to let it go and perhaps in the future “celebrate” and remember in my own personal way.

I have, however, recently purchased an ornament to put on our Christmas tree to commemorate the very first Christmas that I feel allowed to remember him.  It would’ve been this week or next that Kirk would’ve been born, had he been allowed to go to full term.  He would’ve been a Christmas baby.  It’s important to me to have “concrete” items with which to celebrate and remember, and I’m blessed to have been able to find what I consider the “perfect” ornament for our circumstance.

Back side of ornament

Back side of ornament

I found the ornament in an online search and sent for it.  It’s gold with autumn colored beads, and on the center piece on the front is a gold oak leaf embellished with red/orange tones.  On the back side it is engraved (4) lines:Kirk L Thomas, December 1974, Forgiven and, Set Free.

Front of Kirk's commemorative ornament

Front of Kirk’s commemorative ornament

 And with this, I think I’ve gotten the closure I needed to move on from this experience.I still have the red oak tree planted in our front yard this fall that will continue to grow and be strong.  Al put some Christmas garland around the bottom of it ~ kind of like on “A Charlie Brown Christmas” where Linus puts his blanket around the bottom of that sad little Christmas tree that Charlie Brown got.  And with that, I think I can say “Everything is going to be all right” at last.  

 

To understand where I’m coming from with this, please read Forgiven & Set Free from the start.  

 

If you’d like to visit the website where I got this amazing ornament, go to KyleDesigns.com.  They offer all kinds of beautiful ornaments and other personalized/customized items.  Their customer service was exemplary… I got my order two days prior to when it was expected!

 

 Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to everyone!

Blessings…

2 thoughts on “Forgiven & Set Free: 1st Christmas ~

  1. That’s a really nice ornament in memory of Kirk. I’m glad you are finally getting closure and healing. You must have been quite young in 1974. Hugs. I’ll have to click on your link to read your story. Merry Christmas!

    • Thank you, Patti. I was a very naive 14 in 1974. So it only took me 30+ years to get here. The point is, I made it! 🙂 When/if you get a chance, I also recommend my “Revealed” posts. The story of my post-abortion journey to spirituality. Filled with some pretty perilous times, intrigue, drugs/alcohol and even murder. Meantime, Merry Christmas to you!

Leave a Reply

