Confessions of An Office Accessory Junkie ~

Yes, that’s me.  I’m shamelessly addicted to office products!  Since I was about 10 years old, and got my first typewriter, I knew that I wanted to work in an office when I grew up.  But I had no idea the addiction that would bring.  Slowly it started by harmlessly collecting pens and pencils in school.  But by high school, I was carrying six to twelve Bic pens in my purse on a daily basis ~ but only the blue  ones, I hadn’t yet “graduated” to black.

I guess things didn’t really start to go downhill for me in an uncontrollable manner until after I got out of school and started my first real job working at a non-profit help agency as their Receptionist.  It was there I discovered bullfrog clips, LARGE paper clips ~ I’d only ever seen the small ones before ~ and then colored paper and file folder labels.  And it began to snowball as I continued in my career as Receptionist, moved “up” to Administrative Assistant and then Executive Assistant! 

By the time I reached my position at the American Heart Association as Admin Assistant to their IT Director, Marketing Director and Planned Giving Director, I was all about “decorator” accessories.  I wanted my tape dispenser to be floral and my stapler to be zebra striped.  Even my pens had to be exceptional for every day use, but I kept Bic for professional needs and went on to black super fine point Sharpies for my Notary Public responsibilities.

Glitter Gel pens for scrapbooking or descriptive writing!

Glitter Gel pens for scrapbooking or descriptive writing!

"Standard" desk pens

“Standard” desk pens

eyeglass holder

Desk eyeglass holder

I still keep “unusual” mousepads on hand, and yes, I recently contact-papered my desk because I just could not stand that awful “file cabinet beige” any longer!  I’m so ashamed!  When I realized about 10 years ago that I had, what could only be described as a “stockpile” of various pens at home, I knew there was a problem.  I found them… they were in various parts of my house being held in zippered pouches of all kinds.  I think I found five or maybe even six pouches of pens!  Some were floral, some plain, some were glittered, all were colorful.  I kept them hidden from my husband for fear that he’d like one and try to take it from me!  I bought him some mechanical pencils to keep him off track.

Then it happened ~ I started a new job in 2008 (where I currently am); a job that entails a lot of manual hard-copy filing.  When I first went into what were going to be “my files” to manage indefinitely, I almost went into cardiac arrest.  The labels on the file folders were in complete disarray and inconsistent ~ and worse ~ filed wrong!  That’s when I knew I had hit an all time low and was going over the edge with file folders and their labels.  I could handle that the majority of my files had to be that God-awful manila 1/3 cut folder, but I was able to placate myself with some of the “lesser” files and recolored some using blue, green, yellow, purple and red file folders.  I was even able to print some of the labels in color using the laser printer.  Such relief!  (BTW, I did manage to redo ALL 1500+ file folders so that their labels matched in font and style at least, and I refiled them correctly so they were appropriately alpha-filed!)

black and grey fantasy file folders sew kitty file folders Bird Garden file folders

I knew it wouldn’t be affordable or feasible to get some of the prettier file folders for my office, and I grew accustomed to having to deal with that.  But I am planning on purchasing some of these newer finds for my home office in the very near future.  You see, I can’t resist!  The colors are intense and exciting, and they come 12 in a pack!  How could I not?!

Don’t judge me because I’m addicted, or because I have good taste.  Indeed, be kind, it could be YOU!

Next week, my quest to find a matching stapler, tape dispenser and (dare I hope?) a staple puller!

8 thoughts on “Confessions of An Office Accessory Junkie ~

  1. You sound so much like me. When I was working as an Admin to Sales Departments I had all the latest gadget and loved them all. Then I started working as a Sales Admin at Staples in their business to business division (not the stores). I got to know all the big vendors, and I had so much fun stuff. It only fed my addiction. I have some of the best stuff at home now. I quit working 4 years ago, so the pens are gone, but I still have the big toys. Have fun stapler and stapler pulling shopping!!!

    • OMG Cee! My dream job! I also have OCD issues with calendars… even though I use my cell phone exclusively now. It’s hard for me not to buy the refills for the dozen or so portfolios of various sizes I already have. I used to keep my life inside a DayRunner! But my purses used to get so heavy between the calendars, the pens etc that I carried around, I was forced to lighten up… and/or buy/change purses ~ but we won’t go “there” right now!

  2. The next person will be very happy you fixed those files. I had to have a few of those colorful folders. 🙂 I graduated from office supplies to art supplies–watercolor pencils, papers, etc. If you need help branching out, I’m here for ya!

    • “Next person”? LOL! Who says I’m going anywhere? Besides, the goal now is to go electronic and get rid of the hard copies. I should live so long!
      I’m not much of an artist, except with quilting and scrapbooking. But I now know where to go for advice on shopping for art supplies! Thank you! 🙂

  3. I see myself here! I ❤ office products! I have the exact same eyeglass holder. Those folders are so pretty, wish I could use them at work 🙂

Leave a Reply

