Wintry Upstate New York ~

 Al and I went out looking for good places locally to take some wintry pictures to share, despite the bitter cold wind the sun was out for the most part.

Blowing/drifting snow across a rural road near Jordan, NY

Blowing/drifting snow across a rural road near Jordan, NY

Coming across a bridge over the NYS Thruway and some CSX train tracks, I caught this blowing and drifting snow across the road.  I had to take it quick as it’s a busy roadway and there was nowhere to stop and get out… so I took it through our wind shield.

Ducks huddle together on the edge of the iced over Erie Canal near Camillus, NY

Ducks huddle together on the edge of the iced over Erie Canal near Camillus, NY

I can certainly understand why they male and female ducks huddle close together for warmth.  The wind was biting!

Dog walkers and skiers on another section of the Erie Canal Trail near Camillus, NY

Dog walkers and skiers on another section of the Erie Canal Trail near Camillus, NY

I wanted so much to venture down onto the Erie Canal path to take more photos, but the trail head was plowed over with mounds of snow so access was limited to only the most skilled at climbing snow banks ~ leaves me out.  We did watch a family of (4) ~ two adults and their children ages 7 and 4 climb up over the mounds with their cross country skis.  It took about 15 minutes for all four to make it ~ even the dad pretty near wiped out!  They chuckled embarrassingly as I took their photos and thanked them for being so kind.

Snowboliers on the Erie Canal Trail near Jordan, NY

Snowmobilers on the Erie Canal Trail near Jordan, NY

These snowmobilers were zipping up and down the Erie Canal Trail right near our house.  We live about 2/10 away from this portion of the trail and we can hear the snowmobilers all day and night as they race back and forth.  I’m just happy that THIS YEAR there’s enough snow for them to enjoy.  Last year, mid-winter, there were many snowmobiles sitting by the side of the road with FOR SALE signs on them!

A CSX freight train heads right for me

A CSX freight train heads right for me

Al (my husband) has a fascination with trains, so when we saw this one coming towards us at a nearby train crossing, he couldn’t resist getting out and taking a closer look.  I insisted on getting as close to the tracks as possible to get a “head on” view.  My right foot was resting up against the rail as the train barreled down on me.  I hadn’t taken the time to check to see where the crossing gates would come down, and I almost got knocked down onto the tracks in front of the train by one as it came down right behind me.  Adrenalin rush!

4 thoughts on “Wintry Upstate New York ~

  1. You got a good shot through the windshield. I end up with clutter. Lots of snow! Yikes, that would be quite scary getting that close a shot of the train. We love trains, too.

    • Thanks, Patti. My “through the windshield” shots aren’t usually that forgiving. I must’ve been blessed today. That train didn’t look like it was coming too fast until it was almost upon me! If I had stumbled or fallen in the snow, this blog might’ve had a different ending.

    • Thank you, Carol. We’ve been without snow for so long that I knew, once it let loose, that I’d have to get out in it and snap some photos. Yesterday it snowed heavily most of the day, which made for a great opportunity while the sun shown today! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

