Favorite Photos ~

I’ve just been going through all of my “older” pics and added some to my digital picture frame that hangs in our Family Room.  I just wanted to share a few of my very favorites, and explain why they are my favorites.

Karrie graduates from Wright State.

Karrie graduates from Wright State.

As unassuming as this photo may seem to others, I think it’s my all-time favorite of all the hundreds that I have.  You see, that smiling face right dead center, looking straight at the camera, is my daughter, Karalyn Pillsbury.  She was graduating that day from Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio, and my husband and I ventured out there to see her graduate.  Well, as you may imagine, we were high in the bleechers in the audience, and it was a complete chaos of green down in the center of the auditorium where all the gradutes were milling around.  In fact, I couldn’t even see Karalyn without the aid of my camera zoom, that’s how far away we were.  I was SURE she’d never connect with us!  However, as you can see, at one point she looked right at me just as I snapped this photo!  What an extra special gift it was to get her face, beaming at the camera, and no one elses!  This photo is very sentimental.

"They that go down to the sea in ships"

“They that go down to the sea in ships”

Rockport motif #1

Rockport motif #1

A couple more of my favorites come from my honeymoon with Al in 1998.  We drove to Rockport, Massachusetts, and stayed at a nice little bed and breakfast, spending each day sightseeing and photographing.  “They that go down to the sea in ships” was taken in Gloucester, MA.  Of course, it’s a very high profile statue and very popular in Gloucester as well as everywhere else.  Al and I spent a day in Gloucester and went on a whale watch, then took photos upon our return before we headed back to Rockport.  The second photo “Rockport Motif #1” is also a very popular and widely-known photo… however, this one is MINE.  I did not scarf it from somewhere else, but took it myself.  If you Google Motif #1, you will see a variety of such photos come up.

Al on his 1969 Triumph Bonneville

Al on his 1969 Triumph Bonneville

The above photo of my husband is one of my “newest” favorites.  Al owns several British motorcycles, but this Triumph Bonnie is my fave.  He makes it look good, and vice versa!  The bike is special to me because I know of all the work that Al has put into it … this is a custom motorcycle.  I particularly love the gas tank paint job with meta-flake gold and reddish-orange.  It also has precision pin-striping on the top of the tank, done by hand by Al.  His current “project bike” is a 1967 Royal Enfield Interceptor that he got from a friend a couple of years ago in a box in parts!  For $300 he got a bike that’s worth several thousand.  Anyway, this photo is not mine, but courtesy of Roger William Photography in Cortland, NY.

There are many, many special photos in my archives that I would love to share, but these are my current favorites.  Hope you’ve enjoyed perusing them.  Until next time…  Happy Blogging!

 

6 thoughts on “Favorite Photos ~

  1. How cool you got your daughter looking at you in the sea of green. Al does look good on that motorcycle. My hubby had a Triumph when I met him way back when, and his brother had a Royal Enfield. They must have had a thing for British bikes, too.

    • British Bike enthusiasts are few and far between. It’s really great to meet one (or more) when possible.
      I didn’t really get Karrie to look at me, it just miraculously happened! I was stunned when I saw how well that photo came out! Those don’t come along everyday for a novice like me! Thanks for looking, Patti!

  2. I love that pic too! I don’t think I’d seen it before. You couldn’t have planned a better picture. Now, are you going to come up here to my Graduate Graduation? 🙂

    • I would like nothing more than to come back to Alaska, especially to see you graduate again… however, *groans* the airfare is only doable if I (play &) win the lottery! Not to mention that a flight that long is not so doable physically anymore. Al and I are keeping our travels much closer to home nowadays. 😦

Leave a Reply

