Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Water ~

 

This is Part 2 of Cee’s 5-Week Chinese Elements Challenge.  This week the focus is on “water”.  These are my contributions:

View from the Lanai

View from the Lanai

My husband and I took a week and went to Honolulu, Hawaii, for our 1st wedding anniversary back in 1999.  This photo was taken from our lanai overlooking Waikiki Beach (taken with a Kodak 110 film camera!).  I can still feel the warmth of the sun and remember the cool nights watching the moon & stars as we sipped Blue Hawaiian drinks and shared a chocolate volcano brownie.

Alaskan wilderness

Alaskan wilderness

In 2001 I had an opportunity to fly to Anchorage, Alaska, for a week’s stay with my daughter and son-in-law.  This photo captures both water and ice/snow from the mountains in the background.  It was Thanksgiving time when I visited, and icy cold!  But the sightseeing drive from Anchorage down to the coastal Seward, Alaska, was invigorating!

A gorgeous, serene pond sits in the center of a beautiful "strip" mall.

A gorgeous, serene pond sits in the center of a beautiful “strip” mall.

This final submission was snapped in Charlotte, North Carolina, during their spring blossom time.  I took a trip down with my sister-in-law for a few days and she enjoyed taking me sightseeing for photo ops.  As soon as I saw this sweet little pond near a strip mall, I was taken, and got several photos from different locations/angles.  Even the resident green heron didn’t mind me getting him in on the action!

I’m an absolute idiot for water ~ fresh, salt or even frozen!  Thanks for this challenge, Cee! 

 

12 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Water ~

    • Thank you. Yes, my memories of these three trips in particular are quite vivid. I didn’t begin to appreciate photography until 2010, though. I’m learning now to take better pictures, and am looking forward to our 15th anniversary vacation to Maine this year in August. I should bring some awesome photos back from that!

    • We spent a lot of time on that Lanai in the early mornings and sunset and after dark. We were directly above Waikiki. The moon at night was spectacular, and to look out on the beach in the quiet morning was priceless ~ as after 9 a.m. it got very crowded and hectic. The water was blissful.

    • Thanks so much! The Alaskan trip was absolutely breathtaking. Alaska is everything that National Geographic (and others!) say it is! It sure was cold, but you don’t even mind since you’re taken aback by the scenery anyways! Worth the trip! BTW, I really like your “As Wet As It Gets” post, as well as today’s “Back from Belize” pics! Esp the pelicans!

  1. Pingback: cee’s fun foto challenge: water « my sweetpainteddreams

Leave a Reply

