Winter Wandering ~

Today I just didn’t want to stay cooped up in the house, since we’d had all that new snow over the past 24+ hours.  I wanted to take a closer look at things through a lense.  I had some morning shopping to do, so I incorporated that into a long, random drive around a couple of counties to get some interesting photos.

Pin Oak

Pin Oak

My first photo was taken before I even left our driveway this morning while it was still snowing.  We have three lovely pin oak trees in our back yard.  The other two are compliant and lose their leaves in the fall… but this one never seems to want to give up its leaves until the new ones arrive in the spring and start pushing the old, dead ones off the branches.  Not even the windiest, stormiest of days will persuade this tree to let its leaves fall.

 

Rushing waters in Throop, NY (pronounced ("Troop")

Rushing waters in Throop, NY (pronounced (“Troop”)

I really enjoy photographing water any time of the year, but there’s something about the icy coldness of winter waters that I find hypnotic and intriguing.

Blanket of snow

Blanket of snow

A smaller “offshoot” from the larger creek in Throop.  The soft blanket of snow looked inviting, even if cold.

Ice fishing on Cayuga Lake

Ice fishing on Cayuga Lake

I don’t know what possessed me to drive out to my old “stomping grounds” in Cayuga, New York, except that it’s on the shores of Cayuga Lake, which I knew could hold some interesting photo ops.  Often there are water fowl on the edges of the lake, but today I found some ice fishermen/women camped out on the ice.  Not my idea of a fun time, but who’s to judge?  To the left of this shot I took a photo of several more such “blinds” dotted along the length of the frozen over lake ~ however, that photo was blurry and not useable.  I drove over to nearby Montezuma Wildlife Refuge to see what wildlife I would find there today, but the only thing stirring there was a caretaker who was plowing the driveway… everything else was snowed in.

Beau Vine Chop House

Beau Vine Chop House

Last, but not least, I had to snap this photo as a sort of tongue-in-cheek chuckle and tribute to Auburn, NY.  This is the Beau Vine Chop House at the new Hilton Garden Inn just off State Street in Auburn, NY.   I don’t know if the creators of this establishment just didn’t realize the local hilarity of the name of this place, or what?  Anyway who is familiar with Auburn, NY, located in rural Cayuga County, knows that Auburn is a thriving, albeit small city and the hub of the county ~ which is mostly farm land.  A major source of income and employment in Cayuga County is through dairy farms which provide milk and beef through the cows that are raised there.  Cows = bovine.   So, perhaps it’s actually fitting that the name “Beau Vine” is used for a chop house in the middle of Auburn.  I’m sorry, I just can’t take it seriously.

Till next time … TTFN ~

      Tamara Eckstadt

One thought on “Winter Wandering ~

Leave a Reply

