Easter Moon ~

After I finished taking photos of the Snow geese this evening, I looked to my left and caught a glimpse of what promised to be an incredible full moon rising through the trees of the hedgerow, just beyond our garage.  It was getting dark and pretty darn cold already, but I was determined to try taking some night shots ~ which I had never really accomplished before ~ using every option on my camera to see what I could do.  Al got me the tripod from the car (I had nothing on my feet but socks), and I began to set it up on the back deck in anticipation of something good coming from my efforts this evening.

Moon thru the trees 1

 

Moon thru the trees 2

 

Moon glow 3-26-13

 

And last but not least…

 

Moon through the trees

 

“For the Northern Hemisphere, this is the first full moon of springtime. We in this hemisphere call it the Pink Moon, to celebrate the return of certain wild flowers. Other names are Egg Moon, Sprouting Grass Moon, or Easter Moon. In most years, the Christian celebration of Easter falls on the first Sunday after the first full moon of the Northern Hemisphere spring. So tonight’s Easter Moon heralds the coming of Easter Sunday on March 31, 2013.” from EarthSky.com.

I snapped around 40 photos of the moon itself.  I just couldn’t take my eyes off it.  Unfortunately, I was changing settings rather quickly and frantically, so I’m not really sure which setting I used for which photo.  I only know it was set on “Manual” for these best shots.  Anyway, these are my very first night shots.  I’m pretty happy with them, and I hope you enjoy them.  Leave me some feedback, I’d love to hear from you!

Until next time, TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt

 

6 thoughts on “Easter Moon ~

  1. I went out last night to play with taking pictures of the moon too – I’ve done it with the Panasonic, but now that I’m playing with husband’s Rebel, I have to learn all over again. I was only minimally successful – I wanted to capture the shadings in the moon and the clouds around it, but could not seem to get both at the same time. Oh well, try again another time.

    • Are you still revelling in that Rebel? LOL! Good for you! There will be plenty more opportunities to take some night shots ~ for both of us! Looking forward to it! Thanks for stopping by and taking a look, Carol. Hope you and husband are well.

  2. Great shots! Like you, I experimented one night when the moon was exceptionally big and bright, trying every setting, determined to capture it. I can always tell when there’s a full moon, it brightens the kitchen at night.

    • Thanks, Patti. I love and hate the full moon. I love it for it’s illuminating beauty, but it lights up our entire back yard so our dog barks at every little movement out there all night long. I try to keep the drapes closed!

Leave a Reply

