Pennsylvania Adventure ~

Al and Katie (our youngest) and I spent the weekend at my in-laws in Lake Winola, PA (near Clark’s Summit).  It’s always an adventure to visit, and the ride down and back is always scenic.  And, of course, we always stop at Manning’s Dairy for the best ice cream on the whole planet!  And they’re ALWAYS open!

But I can’t go anywhere without my camera anymore.  So I thought I’d share some of my photos from the weekend with you….

A roadside waterfall.

A roadside waterfall.

If you know me well enough by now, you know that I’m a sucker for waterfalls.  We saw many alongside the various roads travelled, but it was hard to get Al to stop.  Of course, the SAFE places to stop and shoot were few and far between!  But I managed to get him to pull off a ways up the road from this one, and I walked back to the guard rail and took this shot.  There was no getting around those stupid trees!

Buckwheat's BBQ

Buckwheat’s BBQ

This was just a silly-looking sign for this REALLY really rural BBQ place.  Everytime we go by it I have to laugh and I think of Little Rascals.  Can’t help it. 

Tunkhannock Viaduct ~ or the Nicholson Bridge

Tunkhannock Viaduct ~ or the Nicholson Bridge

This is an amazing bridge for a train crossing over Tunkhannock Creek.  The bridge is 2,375 feet long and 240 high.  My father-in-law’s father helped to build it prior to 1915.  It’s very formidable-looking when you’re up close.

Tunkhannock Viaduct

Tunkhannock Viaduct

Big Bear!

Big Bear!

This is a carving of a rather large bear that can be seen about 10 miles south of Skaneateles, NY, on Route 41 on the way to Homer (or on the way back).  I’ve been wanting to catch this guy forever!  If you look closely in the background to the left, you can see the white head of a sculpted bald eagle.  There are others along this massive piece of property… along with an alpaca farm.  I don’t have anything in this photo to show the scale of this big fella, but he’s around 15 feet high.

One of the highlights of the weekend (besides seeing family), was going out to dinner Saturday night!  Al’s sister took us to a Catholic church in Tunkhannock for a turkey dinner, and it was the best I’ve ever had!  The church enlisted boy scouts, girl scouts and local school athletic teams to help serve and clean up after everyone.  It was jam-packed!  For only $9.00, you grab your dessert FIRST from several long tables filled to capacity with a myriad of choices, then you go to sit at your table as directed by church volunteers.  The tables are already filled with everything needed for table service etc.  As soon as you sit down, staff brings serving after serving of turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravey, corn, rolls, cranberry sauce and it is served “family style”.  They literally wait on you hand and foot!  You want for nothing!  And the food was delicious!  One of the church’s clergy came to personally greet and welcome us.  Wow!   I think we’re going to go back again soon!

Anyway, it was a good time all weekend, and we’re home again.  Time to get unpacked and unwind.  I think there’s a bowl of ice cream with my name on it as I curl up to an episode of “The Good Wife”.

Thanks for looking!  See you again next time.  Till then, TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt

Leave a Reply

