Reservations ~

This past weekend, Al (my husband) and I had cause to go down to Pennsylvania from Saturday ~ Tuesday for my father-in-law’s funeral etc.  My sister-in-law and mother-in-law have a house in Lake Winola, PA, and we thought we would be staying there during our visit.  Due to circumstances, we were eventually unable to stay there, and had to find other accommodations nearby.  No problem with my Smartphone, I searched hotels/motels in nearby Clarks Summit and found and reserved a room at an Econolodge for Saturday-Sunday-Monday nights.  Or so I thought.

When we finally were able to go to the Econolodge and claim our much-needed/desired sleeping quarters, we were told “no room at the inn” upon arrival.  Apparently there was an error with our online reservation, and the clerk was giving the last room for the night to another occupant as we arrived.  Even though I argued and complained, there was nothing to be done, so we left with the intention of getting whatever accommodations we could muster at 9:00 p.m. on a Saturday night.  Well, after visiting and calling several other local establishments, there were no other accommodations to be had in Clarks Summit.  So I began calling motels/hotels in the next closest town:  Tunkhannock, PA, about 40 miles from Clarks Summit.

After several unsuccessful inquiries, and one that was just plain NOT affordable at $150/night, I hit pay dirt with a place called Shadowbrook Inn and Resort just on the outskirts of Tunkhannock, and affordable.  We booked the room and I told the clerk we were on our way!  Approaching the Inn, we found a Perkins restaurant almost on its doorstep… always a good sign.  By 10:00 p.m. we were moving our baggage from the rental car to Room #106 ~ fortunately it was not on a second floor or anything!  We pretty much crashed and burned that first night.

Sunday morning I took note to survey our accommodations a bit.  It’s a good thing we both have a good sense of humor!  Please keep in mind that the purpose of this post about Shadowbrook is not to disrespect the inn in any way, shape or form.  The room was comfortable enough for our needs, while not being unnecessarily lavish and expensive.  The staff was curteous and the customer service was great ~ very important aspects in my opinion.  But I just had to take some pictures of some of the more humorous, decorative things in our room.  (these photos are unretouched)

But, like I said, I’m really not making fun.  We were doggone happy to have the room that night and the next two!  I’m just musing over some of the finer points of our stay.  All in all, I would absolutely recommend Shadowbrook for affordable, last minute, rrrrrrustic accommodations… especially if you’re a golfer (which we are not).

Until next time, TTFN ~ Tamara

2 thoughts on “Reservations ~

  1. I have seen a faucet like that somewhere…What a night you had. I’m sure you were emotionally drained under the circumstances, and then to try to find a room, drive a good distance, unload, etc…I’m sure you did crash that night.

Leave a Reply

