Painted Lady ~

Painted ladies” is a term in American architecture used for Victorian and Edwardian houses and buildings painted in three or more colors that embellish or enhance their architectural details. The term was first used for San Francisco Victorian houses by writers Elizabeth Pomada and Michael Larsen in their 1978 book Painted Ladies – San Francisco’s Resplendent Victorians.[1] Since then the term has also been used to describe groups of colorful Victorian houses in other American cities, such as the Charles Village neighborhood in Baltimore, Lafayette Square in St. Louis, Missouri, the greater San Francisco and New Orleans areas, Columbia-Tusculum in Cincinnati, The Old West End in Toledo, Ohio, and the city of Cape May, New Jersey  (from Wikipedia)

On a recent trip to Pennsylvania, this incredible piece of architechture caught my eye while driving through the town of Tunkhannock.  I have always loved Victorian homes… always, and have even had fleeting thoughts of stopping the car and asking the homeowner if I could “take a look” whenever I see one that really piques my interest.  This was certainly the case in Tunkhannock.  This home was potentially the most beautiful “Painted Lady” I’ve ever seen in real life.  The very least I had to do was to click some pics of her and share them with you and hope you enjoy the eye candy as much as I did!  (click on a picture to enlarge)

 

I hope you have enjoyed this little glimpse into my architectural side of my passion for photography. 

Until next time, TTFN ~ Tamara

5 thoughts on “Painted Lady ~

Leave a Reply

