Cee’s Share Your World 2013: Week 22 ~

Wow!  It’s Monday already!  I love Monday’s because it’s time for Cee’s Share Your World!  Here are her questions for this week:

What was the last URL that you bookmarked?  It was the Accuweather Forecast for local weather.  Long overdue that I know what’s happening weather-wise in my area!

 
For relaxation, would you rather meditate, swim, walk, listen to music, write, read, yoga, qigong, or other?  I love to swim and can relax nicely in fresh water lakes, ponds or swimming pools.  Salt water, not so much.  In winter, I cuddle up with my pink quilt and either write in my journal, blog or perhaps even work on another quilt project in my sewing room.

 
You’re given $500,000 dollars, what do you spend it on?  I surely would not spend it right away… well, not all of it.  I would purchase a brand new Dodge Charger, for sure.  And a decent vehicle for my husband ~ who’s little Tracker is falling apart.  Then I would relax and cuddle up with my quilt and ponder what to do next.  I would ponder, not squander.

 

Did you like swinging as a child? Do you still get excited when you see a swing?  My neighbors (very rural Central New York) had an amazing, ginormous maple tree that stood about 30 feet high, and they put up a REAL tree swing from one of the highest branches.  It was made with rope on both sides, thick rope about 2″ thick, and a nice wooden seat big enough for two butts from elementary school children.  We’d take turns swinging on that and pushing the swinger so high and fast that your butt would come off the seat at the height of your swing before your descent!  I also liked to do “acrobatics” on swings, like standing on them, flipping upside down, and swinging really high then jumping off.  Ummm, so, to answer your question, yes, I liked swinging.  Do I get excited when I see a swing?  Not so much.  It’s actually a bit disappointing, since swings today aren’t nearly as cool as they used to be!  There’s nothing to compare to a rope swing with a wooden seat!

 

Until next time, TTFN!  Thanks for visiting!  ~ Tamara Eckstadt

10 thoughts on “Cee’s Share Your World 2013: Week 22 ~

  1. I like to swing too. I remember one time, when I was really little, I was waiting for my brothers to come out of karate class. My Dad was pushing me on a swing. I had an itch, so I let go of the swing chain to scratch it. All I remember after that was sitting a few yards away by a little wooden bar thing that marked the end of the playground. The only thing hurt was my finger, and I had only scratched it.

    I would love to have tried out the swing you described… sound fun :).

  2. Wow, I would love that swing :)! That would be soo fun!
    You were pretty brave to do all of those stunts, I’ve really only just jumped off when the swing was really high! Although I do remember one of my friends that I don’t live near anymore always had this huge tire swing big enough for like 6 girls to sit on, and we always twisted it around and then sat on it while is spun around!

    I love your answers!

    • Thanks Charity! It does bring back a lot of memories! Your tire swing must’ve come from a really big tractor tire. I had friends that used to climb inside tires that size and roll down hills in them. Crazy! Those were the days! Thanks for stopping by and taking a peek! Have a great day!

      • It was a really big tire!

        I can’t believe your friends rolled down hills in those things, that sounds really dangerous :)! (Joy says she would love to do that!)

        I enjoyed seeing your answers! I hope you have a great day too!

    • I test drove a Charger “rally” type recently, with all the bells and whistles! I loved the car prior to that, but now… I just gotta have one! Thanks for stopping by, Trisha!

  3. You are right swings are as cool as they used to be. Your childhood swings sounds wonderful and would even fit my oversized adult behind!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

