First Daughter ~

I had the unprecedented pleasure and experience of becoming a grandmother on Wednesday… for the eighth time.  It affected me in ways none of the other grandchildren’s births have.  I’m not sure why.

Perhaps in part because I’ve had so much contact with my first born daughter throughout her pregnancy, this time.  Having two sons, ages 5 and 12, the knowledge and anticipation of having a daughter this time was very exciting… for everyone.

I thought, in the past week, that she had begun to noticeably “glow” ~ you know, like they say pregnant women do.  She quickly denounced it, preferring to compare herself  to a troll.  I think it was the hormones.

Tiny Riley Rose came into our lives on Wednesday, 7-10-13 at 12:28 p.m.  Grandpa Al and I took the new Big Brothers up to the hospital to see their sister that evening after dinner.  I think it was love at first sight, for all involved.  Weighing only 6 lbs 1 oz, she’s a little peanut swaddled in a receiving blanket wearing a warm hat.  Under her hat is a mass of dark hair.  (a source of constant indigestion for my Number 1 throughout the pregnancy ~ so “they” say). 

Photo: Instead of a big dark blur, I see a big light blur.

She was asleep, happy and warm in Mama’s arms.  The atmosphere in the private room was one of calm, joy and love, by both new mother and father.  A vast difference from Number 1’s (it’s a Star Trek thing) first birth in 2001, which was rather chaotic (after laboring for 3 days), harried and exhausting.  This was way different, and welcomed.

 

Mama & Daughter get to know each other.

Mama & Daughter get to know each other.

Each of us took turns holding Riley, starting with her Big Brothers, who were so gentle and seemingly in awe of this tiny little bundle of sleeping sister.  I watched them, and their parents, as everyone took their time in these first moments of getting to know this new family member.  But I was stunned by my daughter’s transformation.  Even after being awake for at least the past twelve hours while things progressed and the pregnancy turned into birth, she exuded confidence, maternal love that I hadn’t seen before, strength and joy as her family gathered around her to celebrate and welcome her.  It was incredibly beautiful to experience.  And I remembered all the struggles this family has been through, and how they’ve pushed forward and are just entering into the “homeowner’s” status.

As I witnessed my first daughter cuddling her first daughter, it appeared to me that she has turned a corner in her life that will forever be changed, and cherished.  As a mother always worries over her children, I can worry a little bit less about Number 1, I think, and concentrate more on being “The Grandmother” now.  Okay, I’ll work on it!

Until next time, thanks for stopping by and visiting.

TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt 

Leave a Reply

