Made to Crave: Background and Day 1

This is the day the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24 NKJV

Before I get busy telling you how my Made to Crave (M2C) day went yesterday, which was officially my first day of lifestyle changing behavior, let me give you a bit of background ~ and I’ll try not to be too lengthy.

I, as I’ve said before, have been fat all of my life. I’ve tried pretty much every diet and/or program known to Man, including the cabbage soup diet – ewwwww! It was awful! I had my stomach stapled in 1988. Not the “gastric bypass” that is all the rage now, but my stomach was stapled off so it was 1/3 its previous size. And I sure did lose weight! I lost 10-15 lbs before I left the hospital! But, boy, was I sick too! I attended pre-surgery support groups – a couple anyways. But they don’t prepare you for what truly happens along the journey to learning your new way to eat! For at least two decades, nausea and vomiting became the new lifestyle for me. I don’t know about ya’ll, but I’d seriously rather die than vomit. To that end, I spent hours at a time nauseated, curled up in the fetal position on the floor or in my bed, praying to feel better… refusing to vomit to make myself feel better. But I lost weight!  All told, I lost about 120 lbs over a year before I began to put together the “tricks of the trade” to make it all come back to me, and more.

My failure came from learning that the junk food was more easily digestible than the healthy stuff. And I never learned or wanted to exercise “enough”. Still both issues for me 20+ years later. I joined a few gyms along the way, with genuine enthusiasm and good intentions. But I admit I am inherently lazy. If it wasn’t altogether EASY for me to get and go to the gym, forget it! Even in the past five years, my working hours of 8-6 Tues-Friday don’t make it easy enough to make it worth my while to go to the gym. When would I go? BEFORE work at like 5 a.m. or AFTER work which would make me arrive home just in time to go to bed? There’s even a small gym on the top floor of the very building that I work in, and I do not have to pay to use it, I just need to take the elevator 23 flights up, before or after work, or maybe during my hour lunch. But then I would be sweaty for the afternoon work… not acceptable. It’s so easy to make excuses! And no one is holding me accountable but me.

No more…

I did well yesterday, my first “official” day of learning how to pray myself through the day. My breakfast was a bowl of Chex – always a bowl of either Chex or Cheerios (plain, NEVER presweetened!). I would accurately guess the amount to be 1 ½ cups of cereal, with 1 cup of 2% milk, 1-2 tsps of white sugar (I’m trying to lighten that up) and a sliced up banana on top if I have them on hand. That’s my weekday breakfast. We’ll get to the weekend in a few days.

Lunch yesterday was a salad from the deli down the hall. Lots of greens, cukes, tomatoes, roasted chicken cubes, a sprinkle of cheddar cheese and about a dozen pumpernickel croutons. I had two packets of Italian dressing on them – I know, I know! But it was a BIG salad!

I needed to have an afternoon snack, but did not come to work prepared and my work became very busy due to our Regional Awards Banquet last night, so I messed up. By the time I left to another location from work to the banquet, I was painfully ravenous, especially knowing that it would be at least another three hours before the banquet buffet would be served. Okay, I stopped at Burger King for something “small” just to stave off the excruciating hunger pangs. I got a hamburger. BAD choice, I know. I was desperate.

* Just so you know, with the smaller stomach comes the issue of hunger. Usually I’m just not hungry, because I can eat 4-5 crackers, or even half a sandwich and consider that a meal and be fine. OR, when I feel the hunger pangs coming on “gently”, and I know I need to eat something soon, if I wait even 20 minutes before putting something in there, the pangs escalate to unbearable and I have been known to gnaw on small animals (stuffed or not!).*

At the banquet buffet, I was relatively good. I ate one hot dog, half of a hamburger (no bread, only ketchup), one salt potato, 1 tbsp of baked ziti (seriously, 1 tbsp! not even “heaping”) and a 3” x 3” piece of celebratory cake for dessert. It was from Wegman’s! And I was FULL. I have given up carbonated drinks, and drink ONLY flavored water. Like I fill this “Lifewater” bottle over and over with plain water and just barely flavor it with one of those little squirt bottles of flavor that I can carry in my purse… and I dump lots of ice into it when available. That’s ALL I drink now.

I was hungry again when I got home around 10:30 p.m., so I had a cup of peach sherbet. Just a cup. It was very satisfying. And that brings me back to this morning (Wednesday).
That finishes off my confessions of yesterday. Whaddya think? Yes, I goofed up a little, but God allows for that. I just make it my business to try harder not to goof up again!

Does anyone have a decent recipe for fruit smoothies? Using real fruit – and low/no calories?

Until next time, thank you for looking in on me and lending your support. Next time it won’t be so lengthy… promise.

TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt

7 thoughts on “Made to Crave: Background and Day 1

  1. Good job, Tamara. We all stumble at the beginning, until we find what works for us. My favorite smoothie (I use a Magic Bullet, so it is about 12-16 oz.) Frozen banana slices, frozen strawberries, 1 Tbs.ground flax seeds, 1 scoop plain protein powder, 1/2 cup of plain Greek yogurt, a drizzle of organic blue agave syrup (low glycemic) then fill remaining space with almond or coconut milk. I used to get (Genisoy, I think) strawberry/banana protein powder, but it was hard to find sometimes. It was really good in this.

    • Hi Patti! You and my niece both have “things” for flax seed, protein powder (she likes chocolate) and almond milk. This stuff is really good? I know it’s good FOR you, but is the taste great? I’m all about flavor. But, I suppose, how can you go wrong with a smoothie? I’m shopping for “new” items this weekend that will be mainstays in my new lifestyle and way of eating. I’ll try some of these items and different recipes. Can you tell me in what ways some of these items are beneficial? Like, wouldn’t Almond milk have more calories than 2% cow’s milk? How do the flax seeds & protein powder benefit? And what is agave? Looking forward to this new adventure!

      • Flax seeds are high in Omega-3s, anti-oxidant, and provide soluble and insoluble fiber. They need to be kept in the freezer, and used ground (a coffee grinder works well) to be digestible. You would use unsweetened almond milk, lower in fat and calories than cow’s milk, and easily digestible. It’s a good alternative for people with kidney problems or lactose intolerance. Protein helps offset the natural sugars in the fruit, keeping your blood sugar from spiking. Agave nectar doesn’t cause the spike, either. (Low-glycemic).
        Here’s a link to a “Green Monster” smoothie. I almost forgot about this one. http://iowagirleats.com/2012/01/04/my-top-secret-diet-weapon/#

  2. Good job on your first day! I’ll look for a couple of my favorite smoothie recipes. I tried making the mango one by memory today but apparently I don’t remember it so well anymore because it didn’t turn out very well!

  3. I think you did really well for your first day! I’m sure you’ll have some good days and some bad days but don’t give up! I know you can do it.

    • I will never give up again. “This time” it feels different from all the other times. It feels right, I feel motivated, and I might even take the jaunt to the roof gym! I do love a good treadmill workout to an MP3 player! Once I get really started, and into a routine and knowing what I’m eating etc., then I will set more specific, achieveable goals with real dates in there and pounds to lose. My tentative “goal” right now is to be able to set those goals in about a month… okay, well, after vacation in August! 🙂

Leave a Reply

