Made to Crave: Subtle Changes ~

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18    Thought for the Day:  I can’t control my circumstances, but I can control my choices.  Setting mini goals – physically and spiritually – positions me for victory. ”  ~ From Made to Crave Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst

I really felt a need to start today’s post with a Bible verse, but couldn’t decide which one.  When I took up my Devotional and began flipping through it for some ideas, I was inundated with all the appropriate things I wanted to say.  So I had to choose.

 

 

I’ve said before that I know we’re (those of us trying to lose weight) not supposed to weigh ourselves every day because when you don’t see weight loss on the scale it’s very discouraging and can thwart your efforts to continue to your goal(s).  However, I just can’t resist hopping on my Weight Watchers digital scale about every other morning to see what, if any, progress I’ve made.  And I never really anticipate seeing anything different than what I saw the day before, but that has not been the case for me.  As of this morning, I’ve lost 9 pounds since beginning this journey on July 15th.  From 326 to 317.  That’s 9, right?  I just stopped and stared at the scale for about 10 seconds.  This done with only changing the way I eat and the content of my food, as well as prayer.  I have yet to begin to exercise.

Although it might not be noticeable yet physically to others, but I’m beginning to see some subtle changes … mostly in clothing.  Things just are fitting the way they used to just a short time ago.  I’m seeing some bagginess here and there.  Admittedly, it’s a bit unnerving.  I have been down this road before many, many times with little to only short-term success and I’ve gained back whatever I’ve lost and more.  So I guess this wardrobe of fat has been a comfort zone for me sort of, it’s all I’ve known all of my life.  Now that’s changing, and changing for real.  Can I really lose weight and get down to a size that I can buy “off the rack” rather than from the online fat stores?  Is this even possible?  Apparently it is, and with God’s help, I’m going to actually realize some goals here!  And I’m going to have to get used to a NEW comfort zone.  Wow!  this is really going to happen this time!  Watch out Macy’s, I’m coming for you!

Until next time, thanks for stopping in and checking my progress out!  TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Made to Crave: Subtle Changes ~

  1. Love the thought for the day – so very true!
    My daughter says one should focus on eating and living in a healthy way – not on losing weight. She says then if the weight loss slows, you’ll not suffer so much discouragement because you’re filling your goal of health. Just a thought.

    • Oddly enough, I have not really kept the idea of weight loss in the forefront. My primary priority is to treat this body that God gave me better. And that starts with eating right. I have been 100% focused on NOT eating fast food, shopping for GOOD foods (fresh fruits/veggies) and not putting anything in my mouth that won’t be good for my body. That’s not saying that I don’t have an ice cream cone one in awhile, or even a hot dog. Since I’m continuing to lose weight, I guess I’m doing something right. Probably the prayer stuff! 🙂 I like how your daughter thinks. I’ll keep that in mind. I expect, at some point, things will slow or even stop for awhile, THAT’S when I’ll need encouragement. Thanks, Carol!

Leave a Reply

