Made to Crave ~ Of Ho-Hos and Yo-Yos

I can’t complain, though I’ve gained back a couple of pounds over the past couple of days… I’m still down like 10-11 lbs overall since July 15th.  I did expect to gain some back.  I’ve been having a little difficulty managing the hunger pangs thing.  They come on so suddenly and so strong that I want to just grab whatever I can at the moment to put something – anything – in my stomach to make them go away.  I do not need any more pain in my life!  But still, I’ve been good.  No, I have not eaten any Ho-Ho’s or anything of the sort.  I just thought that was a catchy title.  And it’s not like things like Ho-Ho’s don’t cross my mind when I’m in the grocery store.  So far, the closest I’ve come to anything “bad” for me are granola bars ~ at 90 calories each.  I expect my weight to “yo-yo” here and there, and I’m not discouraged.  As long as I know in my heart that I’m trying and I continue to eat the right things rather than the wrong things of the past, I’m happy.   God will see to the rest.

Tomorrow we head for New England for a nice, long vacation.  I am apprehensive about all of the temptations I know await me there… in the food department.  In past excursions with my husband, we always have liked to hit up candy stores to try the different delicacies that we can’t find at home.  And we always try something scrumptious at a variety of restaurants.  This time will be different, I will be restrained.  I won’t deny myself some of the finer things ~ well, except the chocolate ~ but I won’t go overboard on anything either.

I will redirect some of my food passions to photography passions.  Keep my camera in hand rather than something to eat.  And I will continue to drink, drink, drink flavored water.  I will have my laptop with me, so you might even see a post or maybe two from me while we’re away.  Sometimes the late evenings are conducive to blogging.

Lighthouse at Portland, Maine

Lighthouse at Portland, Maine

    Until next time, thanks for stopping in.  TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt

4 thoughts on “Made to Crave ~ Of Ho-Hos and Yo-Yos

  1. It’s always so hard to eat healthily on vacations but it sounds like you’ve got the right attitude to do well. Enjoy your trip and I look forward to seeing your photos.

  2. As always, I enjoyed your Blog entry….I hope you have a Wonderful vacation….In New England…Like in the Barry Manilow Song Says…. Time in New England….Let it take you away…. and have a very Memorable and Nostalgic time….Take lots of pictures….

Leave a Reply

