Golden Harvest Festival ~

Beaver Lake Nature Center, in Baldwinsville, NY, is holding its 35th Annual Golden Harvest Festival this weekend (Saturday and Sunday).  Having grown up and gone to school in Baldwinsville, I have been very familiar with this autumn tradition for all of its 35 years.  However, I hadn’t attended for a number of years.  This year, Al and I decided we wanted to go and see if anything was new, different.

A beautiful archway of decorative balloons from the Syracuse Balloon Company welcomes festival-goers

A beautiful archway of decorative balloons from the Syracuse Balloon Company welcomes festival-goers

There are a LOT of things to see, do and taste.  I was mostly interested in the photography aspect of the event, focusing on children, crafts and animals.

A young festival-goers pets a goat near the Petting Zoo at the Golden Harvest Festival.

A young festival-goers pets a goat near the Petting Zoo at the Golden Harvest Festival.

A "mini farmer" enjoys a brief sit-down at the Golden Harvest Festival.

A “mini farmer” enjoys a brief sit-down at the Golden Harvest Festival.

The craft booths that surround the grounds really caught my interest.  These are quality items by a variety of vendors from fabrics to jewels, to furniture and henna artists.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How about a ride on a horse-drawn wagon?  Or maybe you’d like a hat made of balloons…

Horse-drawn wagons take kids and adults for a ride around the grounds

Horse-drawn wagons take kids and adults for a ride around the grounds

A young man grins for his dad while wearing his brand new balloon hat!

A young man grins for his dad while wearing his brand new balloon hat!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 My favorite craft item, one that my husband could not let me do without, was this glass Red Oak leaf.  Those who know me, or have read my blog, know what a Red Oak tree means to me.  Al, in his infinite wisdom, thoughtfulness and generosity, saw me wistfully looking at this beautiful peace of work and purchased it for me to keep on my window in my sewing room (my personal sanctuary).  

A beautiful Red Oak leaf created of glass for my sewing room window.

A beautiful Red Oak leaf created of glass for my sewing room window.

It was a wonderful couple of hours well spent… despite lunch:

Not much nutritional items for lunch, unless you like hummus!

Not much nutritional items for lunch, unless you like hummus!

1 Golden Harvest Fest 2013 blessings

Have a wonderful Autumn!

Until next time, thanks for stopping by and reading my blog.  Hope you enjoyed my photos.

TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt

 

One thought on “Golden Harvest Festival ~

  1. I really like your Golden Harvest Festival and would have loved to visit it with you, especially the craft booths. What pretty bags and stained glass windows ! I also like the vendor’s jacket. So much to see and enjoy ! Thanks for the tour, Tamara and have a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

