Made to Crave: Stress-Eating ~

falling-off-the-wagon-demotivational-poster-1257386217

The past couple of weeks have been keeping me totally stressed out.  Between events at my job, the quilt show, helping Al’s mom and sister move from PA to NC and things at home, I have gained back 5 lbs. of the 18 I had lost.  Some of the difficulty lies in not having good options for food choices at some of these events.  I have not yet managed a way to gracefully decline a meal when the only meal available is pizza, or greasy hamburgers and soda, or chicken wings.   Especially when I’m HUNGRY, and I know there will be no other opportunity to eat until the next day.  So, I fell off the wagon… for a couple of weeks.  It wasn’t a “bad” fall.  I have managed to still drink my bottled, flavored water faithfully.  I’ve only given in to a couple of sodas… and have lived to regret it dearly!  However, soda still remains an albatross for me.  At our recent quilt show, there were a couple of large tables full of baked goodies, cookies, pies, brownies, cupcakes, breads etc. laid out for sale to attendees.  Why on earth did I sign up to attend this area for two hours on Sunday?!  I never really considered it would be a temptation ~ what was I thinking?  Yeah, okay, I just lost it there.  I finished the buttermilk pie just yesterday.  I’ve also been lax fixing meals at home and in going out to eat too much.  A quesadilla at Quaker Steak & Lube should definitely not be on my list of acceptable eats!  This week, I’m full of regrets.  And determination to make it right again.

Another huge bane of my existence is the constant 24/7 back pain I have to endure.  I need to  recognize that this, too, is an added stressor that keeps blind-siding me into stress-eating and not exercising.  Three or four weeks ago, I was beginning to use my treadmill a little more, even bought “exercise clothes” for the occasion.  I was also beginning to get out there on my trike and enjoy the upcoming crisp fall weather, just perfect for cycling.  However, I can only do these two things when the disc pain in my back is either minimal or at least tolerable.  That has not been the case for the past couple of weeks.  It has, indeed, been intolerable most of the time, causing me to either “grasp at straws” for any type of medication that will lessen the pain, or just have to grin and bear it ~ which has become all but impossible.  At any rate, it has greatly hampered my      exercise routine.  I am having the second of three cortisone injections on Monday, and praying that will ease things enough for me to get back on the wagon… on all counts.

I guess I need to take it one day at a time for now.  Put my “big(ger) girl panties” on and wrap my brain around eating healthy again.  I need to also get reacquainted with my prayers and quiet time with God.  My faith has been my fortress, and I have forgotten that recently.  Today starts a new day, and it all depends on how I choose to deal with it.

Until next time, thanks for stopping by.  I’d love a word (or two) of encouragement if you’re so inclined to leave a comment.  TTFN ~ Tamara Eckstadt

3 thoughts on “Made to Crave: Stress-Eating ~

  1. Tammy, please take the time to talk with me at guild. I have been where you are currently at. I may be able to give you some insight as to help you with your weight loss, and the pain. Sorry, In-laws I can’t help with. Send me an email or give me a call if you need to talk.
    Blessings upon you as it is a hard journey.
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

